Spinning (And Drafting…Sort Of) Targhee Wool

I started working with Targhee for the first time the other day. Despite how luxurious it appeared and the soft welcoming natural color I prefer the Shetland. I am new to spinning so that means I am new to drafting. I tried a method of drafting on my first wool (Corriedale) and I made a huge fluffy mess. On the Shetland I tried a different method of pre-drafting that I will post pictures of at the end. The Targhee is odd in my hands. I feel like at times I am tugging it apart and other times I just look at it and it is over drafted. Could be that I am just a beginner though I still prefer the feel of the Shetland. 

To draft I took the end of a roll of wool top (roving) I purchased from “Island Fibers.” I split it into several pieces at the start before gently pulling through and into separate strands. 

Then I went through and gently tugged on the wool to make it more web-like for creating a finer thread without splitting again. The thread was finer….sometimes. I still have a long way to go with drafting! I think once I am able to get a wheel I will be able to control everything more easily. The drop spindle is great for on the go and bulky yarn for me so far. It could also be the type of spindle. I see very lovely fine yarns made on Turkish spindles. I actually prefer worsted weight but being skilled in making various yarn weights and types is a goal of mine. 

A few people have commented on photos of mine I post on Instagram (username: savagedaughter) that one day when I can spin finely I will wish I could still spin in heavier weights. While that may be true for many a goal of mine is to be able to create any weight by eye. To be so familiar with my fibers that we “speak” to one another. Respect one another. I hope to one day buy a loom to weave our own fabric for clothing (mostly Medieval garb), to create baby wraps (for babywearing), weave rugs, wall art, et cetera. I may even create the art yarn I drool over on Pinterest but am not quite sure how to use….yet. When I talk about homesteading I am in part talking about skills such as this. To be able to go off the grid if need be and to share the “old ways” of doing things with the world. Once a necessity these crafts are now hobbies and art. 
  

Leave a Reply

