Easy Homemade Condensed Cream of Mushroom Soup Recipe 

Although we strive to be self-sufficient it isn’t always possible seeing as we live in a townhouse with a tub for a very small future garden. We also have decently busy lives currently when my husband is home. There are many things I make from scratch but we also keep backups just in case for some semi-homemade dishes. Canned condensed cream of mushroom soup is one of those things. I use them in casseroles of all kinds and it makes everything taste even more amazing with its fatty deliciousness we all know isn’t great for us.  

The other night I made a cheesy quinoa casserole with mushrooms, cauliflower and a sauce made of cream of mushroom soup blended with onions, garlic and herbs that made a thick savory goodness. While it cooked I washed dishes. We recycle everything we are able to. So I was cleaning the food out of the cans and I sliced my finger open. AGAIN. I winced and swore off ever using canned soup as I cleaned my wound then put some breastmilk on it (don’t knock it until you try it! I have zero issue with the cut today). 

So here I am today making my own canned condensed cream of mushroom soup. Unfortunately, it only lasts a few days in the fridge. Fortunately, that won’t be a problem for my family! We really do love this stuff. Another plus is that it only takes about 10 minutes to make. 

To make your own you will need: 

*1 cup finely chopped mushrooms (I do half chunky out of personal preference. We also use Crimini typically.)

*2/3 cup milk of choice (we don’t tend to have animal milk at home but we did today. So that is what I used. Cashew would be the best choice for vegans.) 

*1/3 cup flour (we buy organic unbleached in bulk)

*1 1/4 cup vegetable stock (I made ours and added 1 teaspoon of white miso paste but that isn’t necessary.)

*3 teaspoons of spices. Usually, people use 1 teaspoon onion powder, 1 teaspoon garlic powder and a mix of the rest of salt, pepper and other things. I used garlic powder, onion powder, salt, pepper and a dash of smoked paprika. 

  

I pre-made my stock so I could blend the miso paste in so it was already hot. I set it aside and whisked the flour and milk in a cold pot before adding the stock in. You can do this in a separate bowl if desired though. 

  

Be sure to heat the stock separately first and whisk the milk and flour unheated before combining. 

  

Afterwards, add in the mushrooms and spices.

  

Whisk whisk whisk! 

Let it cook for 5 minutes or 1-2 minutes longer for a little extra thickness. 

  

Now it’s ready to be used or saved! Let it cool before pouring into a mason jar and sticking in the fridge. It only lasts a few days so be sure to use it up! It tastes way better than store bought! 

   
 

5 thoughts on “Easy Homemade Condensed Cream of Mushroom Soup Recipe 

  1. This sounds really good, and I’m going to have to give it a try. Thank you for sharing it with us. If you want to make a fair-sized batch up to be able to keep some on hand, you should be able to freeze it. You could fill small freezer bags, or even use glass Pyrex or Anchor-Hocking storage dishes. I rarely use plastic containers anymore, and I love the Anchor-Hocking dishes for all of my storage and freezing needs. I love using jars as well, but I don’t know if I’d want to use them in the freezer, mainly because I often like to be able to pop things right into the microwave to defrost, and I’d be worried about putting jars in there as they have a narrower opening.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

