Viking Strong – How Homesteading and Heathenry Inspire a Healthier Me 

Being healthy is extremely beneficial to homesteading. Depending on what you do or plan on doing it is much easier to get on the floor and help a struggling animal give birth, prepare land to grow crops, care for livestock, work long hours crafting things your family may need and/or whatever else you may need to do if you are healthy and strong. 

 Me today:  

When you look at me you probably see someone who is clearly around 200 pounds overweight. I have no room to talk right? I don’t think so. Even at what is currently a few pounds shy of my heaviest I work to be a stronger and healthier person. I do not equate weight with health but many do. I walk when the weather and my baby permits it, my family goes hiking whenever my husband has a day or two off, we went back to a Vegetarian lifestyle (This is a personal choice. We have nothing against meat but until we can raise our own livestock we will be trying to stay away from meat unless bought from a local farm. It is easier to simply just eat vegetarian with our lives though), I use the beastly elliptical in our living room, et cetera. Instant results don’t happen in a healthy way and I slip up a lot but I try. My goal is to be “Viking Strong” as I once was. I have always been overweight…but I could also at one point lift, cut and carry large Noble Firs that were much taller than I am, lift and build with cinder blocks all day, knock down a grown man, garden in an inhospitable and hard environment for hours a day, et cetera. Again, weight means nothing in my eyes. You can be big and strong. Fat and healthy. I know people of lower weights who essentially live on Oreos and can’t walk more than a mile. Their weight doesn’t make them healthy. 


Me in 2009 working with Christmas trees at Target: 

  
Health relates to Norse (or any part really) Heathenry as well. When people generally think of the Norse they think of Vikings. Tall, fair, strong, brutal and cunning. They were mostly farmers or craftspeople who used their whole body to work all day every day. Raiding season was probably even harder on the body. Their gods were seen as just as strong if not stronger. It is one aspect that draws people to them. Their strength. It is a belief held by various cultures that health impacts your spiritual life. A good diet can provide sharpness and clarity of mind. Working on physical strength can help with blood flow and other physical aspects that can impact the mind as well. Many see the body as a vessel that holds the soul. The body as a temple of sorts. The gods can see when you treat it with respect. 
Me in 2010:  
These are a jumble of personal views I felt compelled to write after a walk around the neighborhood. Sunna’s warmth on my face and the presence of Spring apparent in the air. I just felt good. If not for worrying about the skin on my pale child (worried about her getting burnt) I would have walked longer. Speaking of health and fitness is something we are bombarded with alongside ads for things that promote the exact opposite but contain a conventionally fit and beautiful person to display it. I don’t general speak about it except at times on my Instagram when posting about a geeky virtual running club I am part of. Today something compelled me to make a short note of it though. Not a lecture but I reminder to myself that I need to work hard in every aspect of my life for my homesteading future and spiritual growth. 
 Another reason to work hard:

   

One thought on “Viking Strong – How Homesteading and Heathenry Inspire a Healthier Me 

  1. “Viking Strong” I like that. Good goal that I hope I can share. I have lost a lot of strength since my knee surgery January 2015. Not letting that stop me, but finding different ways to work and keeping at it is what I am up to these days. Still, getting old isn’t for wimps.

    Like

Leave a Reply

