Mason Jar Raw Milk Butter – Revisiting My Childhood

I believe I was in the 5th grade the first time I can remember making butter in a mason jar. We took a jar, heavy cream and a classroom full of kids and made butter! How? Pour and shake. 

And shake. Shake and shake and shake! By the time we all got a try I think a few of us gave it some more shakes. 

Since then, I have often made butter in this fashion. Salted, herbal, plain, etc. It is a work out but worth it. Much different tasting from store bought too. You can easily make this in a food processor or a blender but what’s the fun in that? 

Recently, my mother set out to make butter. When she got to where she was told she could procure raw milk she was told she needed to own part of the cow that produced it. That wasn’t happening. Living where we do now we fortunately have access to raw milk and cream. Store bought milk is generally stripped of the goodies needed to make butter. Even heavy cream wasn’t really the same. Raw milk butter? Heavenly. We generally make ours salted. 

This time around we have raw cows milk but we always buy raw goats milk or cream when available. We prefer it. It is one of the many reasons we want to own goats. 

This recipe and process would be a lot easier with raw cream. There is still some fatty goodness in the milk but it takes longer in my experience and doesn’t yield as much butter. We are out of butter though so I’m working with what I’ve got! 


Here’s what you need to make it with just a jar: 

*Raw milk or cream 

*Jar with tight fitting lid

*Salt

*Manpower (it’s just me and the baby today so I WISH my mom was here to help!)
Now, I don’t have an exact recipe. I pour whatever amount of milk fits into my jar with a good bit of space left. Later I add salt to taste. 

  

  
Add milk and and shake! You will start to see pieces chunk up and eventually separate. It will start to turn a light hue of yellow. When it starts to look like chunky lumpy butter (I’m not super helpful with this recipe) you can pour the buttermilk out and save. 

    

  

Some people will now rinse their butter but I never felt there was much of a difference. 

  
I generally just flip the jar over and use a spoon to push out extra liquid. You can put it in cheese cloth and gently squeeze out extra liquid though. 

  

  
Once you are satisfied you have all the buttermilk out you can add salt! I added one pinch to this because we may like salt a bit much in this family.

  

  

Store in a jar! I generally will refrigerate if I make a ton but you can leave this out if you plan on eating it all in about a week. 

7 thoughts on “Mason Jar Raw Milk Butter – Revisiting My Childhood

  1. Many years ago one of my older sisters lived in a small town where she was able to get farm fresh milk and cream. I remember on one visit Mom separated the cream and we made butter just like this. It was SO good. Definitely a lot of shaking, but worth it.

    Like

  2. Hey, so glad I found your blog. How relieving to find a homesteading blog that is not Christian-filled (not agaimst it, just nice to find a fellow heathen, hehe)

    My husband is from Norway and myself from Canada and so I too am raising a little Viking. Strong willed is the understatement of the year.

    This raw milk butter post makes it look way too easy so im going to try tonight. Wish me luck! I look forward to your posts, now.

    -Kat

    Liked by 2 people

      • Another heathen homesteader here! Actually, I found this blog when I went to start my blog on the topic. I’m so glad I’m not the only one. Homesteading blogs do seem to be dominated by Christians for the most part. It’s good to see a Heathen perspective. I think that homesteading and heathenry go hand in hand because the gods show us to be self-reliant, strong and independent.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Homemade Butter! | Naturally Independent

Leave a Reply

