Sourdough Rolls (and buns!) Recipe 

I have been baking a variety of rolls and buns lately. Mostly, for my husband to take to work for lunches and dinners if he has to stay late or overnight (military). They are fresh, filling, cheap to make and usually pretty easy to put together. I wanted to try a new sourdough recipe since the one I have for sandwich bread and soups tends to not hold its shape. Or rather it reaches out to take on whatever shape the container it’s in has. I wanted something I could mold better. I found the original recipe for the one below on Pinterest but I found myself altering it a few times. It also wasn’t very specific (which mine really isn’t either) so that wasn’t super helpful. 

In this post I made (not very pretty) hot dog buns and rolls. We are trying to cut down on the amount of bread we eat together (him not so much as he’s stuck unable to get food while at work and bread is filling) so I wanted to make a variety from one batch so I don’t have too much extra. 

You will need: 

*4 cups of unbleached flour plus an extra cup (at least) to knead on and work in

*1 1/2 cups of warm water (not hot)

*1 cup sourdough starter

*2 tablespoons brown sugar 

*2 tablespoons oil (I used sunflower oil)

*1 tablespoon salt 

*1 tablespoon dry yeast (I feel this is optional if you have plenty of time to let this rise)

*melted salted butter (not pictured)
  

I put everything together all at the same time (minus the butter. That’s for later). The original recipe said to add it in half a cup at a time but I feel the recipe works fine like this. I mixed well. 
  

When I couldn’t mix it anymore I floured a surface and dropped the mixture onto it. I found even adding an extra cup to the original recipe it used up a lot of flour. I have made this twice (working on a third batch that is half rye flour) and both times I kneaded it with around an cup extra of flour. 
  

Knead until it is fully mixed, no longer sticky and smooth. Then drop back into the bowl with a little extra flour to prevent sticking. Cover with a cloth or Saran Wrap.
  
  

Now wait! I let it sit about 4 hours this time and the time before that about 16 hours. I think the longer it sits and rises the better. It had a good hint of sour the next day and this time it wasn’t too strong. If you prefer it really sour then let it sit for a few days. I would knead occasionally. 
   
After it has doubled in size you can punch it down then pull apart to shape. I used the method I do for pretzel rolls to get a smooth topped surface. You make a ball then punch the sides inward to make it round. 
  
  
  

Let the finished rolls sit covered before baking. I noticed when I first made it my rolls were much larger than the batch that was baked first (I split it because they didn’t all fit). I only waited about ten minutes the first time but I think 30+ minutes works better. 
  
  

While the rolls sit preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. When the rolls are ready to bake you can flour a baking sheet, use nonstick aluminum or put some oil down. I used non-stick aluminum and a spray of oil. 
  

Bake for 15 minutes before taking out to brush with melted butter. 
  

Return to the oven for 5-7 minutes. I waited until mine were a little more golden but I think they are great and more soft when you just leave for the 5 minutes. 

Brush with butter again then let cool. Enjoy when they are cool enough to eat! Yum! 
  
  

With the buns I want to add that I used them the next day. I popped them in the oven for a few minutes then drained some butter from the onion topping I made (onions, butter and spices) then brushed that on. Absolutely delicious! In case you want to try that one too! 

One thought on “Sourdough Rolls (and buns!) Recipe 

Leave a Reply

