Ostara Sweet Treat -Lemon Lavender Pound Cake 

For Ostara I decided I really wanted to make something with lemon and lavender. We have lavender farms not far from here and it was easy to procure some for baking. I thought about what I wanted and a moist Lemon-Lavender pound cake sounded amazing. So I gathered up some recipes and tweaked them to create my own. 

For the cake you will need:

*1 1/2 cups of flour (all purpose works well)

*1 1/3 cup sugar

*1 cup yogurt (we only had blueberry dairy based Kefir but regular or vanilla yogurt would be great too)

*1/2 cup room temperature butter (you can heat it a bit if it’s still cool in your house. I had to)

*3 eggs  

*1 tbs fresh lemon zest

*1 tbs fresh lemon juice

*1 tbs pure vanilla extract 

*1 tsp dried edible lavender

*1/4 tsp salt 

*1/4 tsp baking powder 

*1/4 tsp baking soda

For the frosting you will need: 

*1/3 cup powdered sugar

*2 tbs milk (I used the blueberry kefir again)

*1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract 
Add all the dry ingredients together and mix before setting aside.
  
  
Cream the butter. I don’t have a mixer so I whipped it up for about 5 minutes. 
  
Add sugar and cream again. This took another 5 minutes or so. 
  
  
Add the eggs one at a time. Mix well between each egg.
  
  

The mixture should be slightly frothy when you are finished with the eggs.
  

Add the dry ingredients to the wet a little at a time. 
  

Eventually you will find it is too dry to mix more. I added the kefir in at this time.
  
  

Once it was completely mixed I set it aside and rolled a room temperature lemon against the counter to help the juices flow and to warm up the oils in the rind. 
  

Then I used a cheese grater on the finest setting to zest about a tablespoon of it.
   
 
Then I cut the lemon in half and squeezed out a tablespoon of juice. 
I sliced the rest of the half I squeezed and made a refreshing iced lemon water with it. Yum!
  

Here I added the lemon zest, lemon juice and pure vanilla extract. 
  

After mixing completely I added the dried lavender and mixed again.
  
  

Then I greased a 9×5 bread pan to pour the blend in. I baked this at 325 F for 35 minutes. I took it out to cool before putting it on the counter. I don’t have a cooling rack but if you do I would use this.
  
  

At this time I whipped up the icing by simply adding all the ingredients listed together. Then I quickly poured it over the pound cake. Immediately I sprinkled on a pinch of dried lavender before the top layer of frosting could create a barrier that prevents it from sticking. It was almost a bit much so I would suggest using less less. My icing pictured had more liquid than what is in the recipe because I wanted a thin layer surrounding the cake. You can mix yours to whatever consistency you desire. 
   
 

You can serve immediately! Enjoy! 
  

3 thoughts on “Ostara Sweet Treat -Lemon Lavender Pound Cake 

Leave a Reply

