House of Jars

I have been meaning to write about this topic for so long I had to take new pictures! My old ones were so different from what we have now. 

I have always loved the idea of buying in bulk. Saving money and creating less waste. My ideal kitchen would be filled with reusable and/or natural materials. Wood, glass, ceramic, natural cloth, et cetera to hold goods in. My family is working to create a Delft inspired kitchen theme with a bit of rustic flair. Finding things in the right shade of blue or without designs that are super far off from our theme has been difficult. We have saved most of our wood kitchen ware for SCA (Society for Creative Anachronism) events and ceramic in the styles we want are hard to come by. So we have collected a huge variety of glass containers for the time being. Mostly mason jars that I use as cups, for storing nut milks in, for fermented foods, making canned goods, to hold dried foods like beans, for keeping homemade floor wash in, et cetera. My kitchen is filled to the brim in mason jars. In every cupboard, in the fridge, in the freezer, under the sink, etc. 
We also found these nice big jars at a local shop. We keeps our sugars, flours and other goods in them. We eventually plan to add more as we work through food we don’t plan on buying again as we make more and more from scratch. They help keep moisture (something we have in abundance here) and potential bugs (so far we have mostly just seen….interesting…spiders seeing as we live next to a forest) out, keep food fresher longer, cut down on waste by allowing us to buy bulk (money saving too!) items in less wasteful packaging and more. It is kind of amazing how small changes can make such an impact. Not to mention they are more aesthetically pleasing than store packaging! 
  

2 thoughts on “House of Jars

  1. I use a lot of glassware and tins for storage. I got rid of most of my plastic stuff quite awhile ago. I think it’s healthier to use glass instead of plastic, and it looks so much nicer. I love your jars – they have a lovely sense of old-fashioned comfort to them. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

