Buttery Flatbread Recipe 

Yesterday, I started soaking black beans to make for dinner tonight. My original plan was to make a Mexican inspired dish. I ended up making taco style pasta last night however so I wanted to change it up. I tossed some black olives in garlic and butter, made quinoa seasoned with herbs and lemon and cooked my beans in smoked paprika, turmeric and other spices. Then I made flatbread! I originally was thinking of making some sort of wrap but honestly I suck at shaping these things. So I used them to dip into my food instead. So good! Much easier for my toddler to join in and eat as well this way.

You will need: 

*4 cups unbleached flour

*1 1/2 cups milk

*1 stick of butter (I used salted)

*1 tsp salt

*oil for cooking 

Melt butter completely.
  

Warm milk. I used the same pan I melted the butter in. You can use room temperature but this was quicker and I didn’t have milk sitting out. I actually used heavy cream as we usually don’t have animal milk at home. We had this around for our Droste cocoa. 
  

Mix the milk and butter together.

Add the flour and salt.
  

  

Mix well before dropping out on a floured counter to knead. It will be buttery and flakey so no need to work it all out perfectly like bread dough. 
  

  

Place in floured bowl and cover. Leave for 30 minutes to rest.
  

Placed on floured surface and press gently down to flatten slightly. Then cut into 8 pieces.
  

Roll each piece into as much of a ball as you can. As you can see I wasn’t great at this. 
  

Flatten out into as much of a circle as you can with a rolling pin. I am THE WORST at this! I make delicious food. It’s just usually not very pretty. The thinner you flatten it the more flexible it becomes. Don’t be afraid to thin it out. It will thicken slightly when cooked.
  

  

Fry on medium low for around a minute on each side. It will bubble when ready. I tried using a spray oil at first and it got absorbed too quickly. So I switched to pouring a good deal in. So much better! 
  

  

  

Serve immediately! Great for using with dips, wraps and if made thicker they would be a nice floppy flatbread for sandwiches. 
  
  

8 thoughts on “Buttery Flatbread Recipe 

  1. Looks tasty! I wonder if you keep folding and rolling it a few times if you’ll get a really nice flakiness like Indian parathas. Gotta try this sometime.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Fast Flat bread – recipe share – urbanhomesteadnz

Leave a Reply

