English Muffins Recipe

Growing up my mom always had English Muffins around the house. I wasn’t super fond of them unless slathered in a bucket of butter. Things have changed. I love them now! Then again I am much more fond of soured breads these days. Hence why I post mostly sourdough bread recipes. These are easy to make and don’t take much time other than having to wait a bit. 

My pictures are a little off. The light in my house isn’t great. Also, I made two batches of these in the 24 hours. I didn’t finish getting pictures of my first batch before having to hurry and cook them up so I started another batch to finish getting pictures. My husband may have only left 3 behind so the child and I were craving more after breakfast. Good thing I had more dough ready! 

You will need:

*2 3/4 cups unbleached all purpose flour 

*1 cup milk. I have used everything from heavy cream to buttermilk to nut milks. I even used my coffee creamer in a pinch. 

*1/2 cup of well fed sourdough starter 

*1 tbs sugar

*1 tsp baking soda 

*1 tsp salt 

*cornmeal 

Mix 2 cups of flour with the milk and sourdough starter. Cover with either Saran Wrap or a cloth. Bug season has started so I used a press and seal type wrap the first time around. I am not fond of the stuff so I used a cloth and tucked in the sides the second time. Leave for at least 8 hours. I left mine for about 16 hours both times. 
  
  
  
  
  

Add the remainder of the ingredients.
   
    
 

Mix as much as you can. It will be slightly dry so kneading will help. 
Place into a floured surface and knead lightly. 
  

Let rest 5 minutes. 

Now, I dust the ball of dough and the counter with cornmeal. Many recipes have you dust after cutting but the dough isn’t moist enough at that point to really grab a good bit of cornmeal. So I dust everything. 
  

Roll out to about 3/4 of an inch thick. I use the lid of a mason jar as a guide to get it near that. If you’re using a cookie cutter or cup just roll out to around that thickness. 

Cut out with your choice of a mason jar lid, cookie cutter, cup, etc. 
  

Place on more cornmeal to rise slightly for at least an hour. The first time around I left it for about 4 hours as we played outside. Hence, why I rushed to cook them when we got home. It was way past dinner time! They were perfectly fine though. 
  

To cook oil a pan and heat on low. Cook each side for about 6 minutes. After they are done you can eat immediately but they also freeze well for later use! They also reheat in the toaster beautifully! I should note my batch made with dairy didn’t puff much when cooked but when I used almond milk they puffed like crazy! So fluffy and light! Both delicious. 
  
  
  
   
   
  

5 thoughts on “English Muffins Recipe

      • That would be handy, I’ve been wanting to make sour dough breads but cannot find anywhere around where I am that has starters and if I buy from overseas it would have to travel a long way so I’m not sure how it would hold up on the journey. The problem with being at the bottom of the world.

        Like

Leave a Reply

