Versatile Sandwich Bread Recipe – Vegetarian and Vegan Included

I started using this recipe for a fairly quick sandwich bread recently. After I started on my first batch I found myself out of certain ingredients and ended up making vegan substitutes in place of the missing ingredients. It turned out amazing! Later, I tried the vegetarian recipe and today I made the vegan again but with other added ingredients. It’s one of those recipes that seems foolproof as every change I make ends up with bread that is still tasty. This blog won’t have step by step pictures so I don’t have to wait a few weeks to document all the different substitutions and additions. Instead I’ll be adding the original recipe and then the gist of a recipe I used today (I didn’t measure the extra bits I used so I kind of winged it). You can also use this recipe to make buns and rolls like I did. It only makes one loaf so be aware of that! Many recipes have recipes written for two loaves.

The Original Recipe (Vegetarian)
You will need: 

*3 cups all purpose flour (plus extra for kneading)

*1/2 cup warm water

*1/4 cup milk

*1/4 cup melted butter 

*2 tbsp sugar and a separate 1 tbsp sugar

*2 tbsp active dry yeast

*1 tsp salt

*1 egg

Mix the warm water, active dry yeast and sugar. Let sit 10 minutes until it doubles in amount.

Add your flour to a bowl and make a well in the middle. Add all the ingredients except the milk and then stir. Then you can pour in the milk and mix well.

Leave covered in a floured or greased bowl for at least an hour to rise.

After the hour has passed punch down the bread and knead lightly on a floured surface before shaping into a loaf. Add to a greased bread pan, cover and let rise for at least 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven towards the end of the resting/rising period to 375 F. Bake for 30 minutes or until golden brown. 

Let it rest a minute or two before removing from the bread pan. Enjoy when cool! 

My Alterations (Vegan)
You will need: 

*3 (you may need more depending on alterations) cups all purpose flour (plus extra for kneading). I have had great luck with half buckwheat or half rye to half unbleached all purpose. Other flours may do well though I have yet to experiment with gluten free alternatives with this recipe. 

*1/2 cup warm water (plus 2 tbsp for the flax seed)

*1/4 cup dairy free milk such as oat or nut milks. Dairy free creamer makes for a sweeter and softer bread I have noticed. 

*1/4 cup melted coconut oil or vegan butter. Other oils will work as well but may effect the taste.

*2 tbsp raw (doesn’t need to be raw but it works nicely) sugar (I used turbinado) and a separate 1 tbsp sugar

*2 tbsp active dry yeast (I have been using 1 tbsp active dry yeast and 1/2-1 cup sourdough starter) 

*1 tbsp ground flax 

*1 tsp salt

Optional: nuts, oats, seeds and other extras

Mix the sugar, dry active yeast, sourdough starter and 1/2 cup warm water together. Let sit 10 minutes to double in volume. 

Mix the 1 tbsp ground flax seed with the 2 tbsp warm water. Let sit and the flax will begin to soften and change in texture. This is the egg substitute. 

Add the flour you have chosen to use to a bowl. Mix in any nuts, grains, seeds you may want to use. I used whole raw pine nuts and extra flax my first time. The nuts fell off easy when slicing but added a nice texture. Today I used flax, ground raw pine nuts and chunks of almonds I toasted after using them to make almond milk. Slightly more chewy but held up better to hungry toddler abuse. You don’t need to add anything but I love a little extra texture, flavor and added healthy goodness. You may need to add extra flour. I only had to in the recipe I used today but I was also doubling mine and used a tiny bit too much almond and oat milk as they were almost out and I wanted to use them up. 

Add in all other ingredients and mix well! Add to an oiled or floured bowl, cover and let rise for 1-2 hours.

Punch down and knead on a floured surface. If you used nuts some may fall out. I just tucked them back in. Shape into a bread loaf and place in a oiled bread pan. Cover and let sit 30 minutes to an hour. Depending on your substitutions and the temperature in your kitchen it may change the time needed. 

Bake at 375 F for 30 minutes until golden brown. Do the tap test to make sure it is done at this time. Let sit in pan for a minute or two before removing. Cool and then enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

