Roma Tomato Pizza Sauce Recipe

I have had vegan pizza on my list to try making for quite some time now. I had been putting it off due to it being somewhat labor intensive as I planned to make every aspect from scratch. Recently, I started gathering ingredients and found the push to try it sooner than anticipated through a Facebook post on a friends vegan pizza. Pregnancy has made food not very desirable but this pizza was simple enough in flavor that I could enjoy it without becoming sick. 

The first step was making the sauce. I am not the biggest fan of tomatoes (I actually really dislike them in most cases unless super processed and cooked down). I didn’t want to use canned ingredients due to flavor issues I have encountered before so I started with fresh tomatoes.

We didn’t want much sauce so I took a recipe and cut it in half as well as adding more herbs and spices. Feel free to double it for more sauce. 

You will need:

*5 fresh Roma tomatoes

*1/2 cup of water

*2 tbs sugar (white is in the recipe)

*1 tbs oil (I used sunflower but olive is more traditional)

*1/2 tbs white vinegar 

*spices. I used salt, pepper, parsley, basil, garlic, smoked paprika and turmeric to taste. I used frozen cubes of garlic from Trader Joe’s as working with onions and garlic is currently difficult for me. I used mostly dried ingredients.

Rinse off your tomatoes then proceed to roughly chop them up. 

Add to a blender or food processor and throw in spices before blending well.

I added my water, vinegar, oil and sugar in the blender afterwards to mix well but they can be added to the pot in the next step. 

Add to a pot and bring to a boil. 

Turn down heat to simmer. Stir occasionally for 1-2 hours until desired flavor and consistency is reached.

Blend again to smooth out the mixture. If you have doubled the recipe you may need to do this in batches. Especially, if the contents are hot/warm. 

Then it is ready to use! 

Leave a Reply

