Vegan Pizza Dough Recipe 

I posted first about my vegan tomato sauce recipe (most are vegan but the point was in making a vegan pizza to try). You can find the recipe here: https://theheathenhomesteader.wordpress.com/2016/05/16/roma-tomato-pizza-sauce-recipe/

This is the second step in making my very first homemade vegan pizza. Making the dough! It takes roughly around the same time as the sauce so I began the sauce first. Normally, I would have added sourdough starter to my crust but I wanted a recipe that would be more easily replicated by most people. I rarely see sourdough starters at others houses so I chose the dry yeast route. This recipe supposedly makes two crusts but I decided any leftover after creating the crust I wanted could be used the next day to make breadsticks. I might have tossed that idea out of the window and accidental made the fluffier pizza! It’s huge! If you want a thinner pizza split the dough into two pizzas. 

You will need: 

*4 cups unbleached all purpose flour

*2 cups warm water (not hot. it’s for the yeast)

*2 tbs dry active yeast

*1/2 tsp salt  

Mix warm water and yeast for several minutes until fully dissolved. Let sit 5-10 to expand and froth up.

Mix flour and salt in large bowl. 

Make a well in the center of the flour and add yeast mixture. 

Mix well! The blend will be sticky but you will be kneading it with a bit more flour.

Flour a clean surface with a out 2 tablespoons of flour and knead dough well until it no longer sticks to your hands.

Form into a ball and add to a greased bowl. I tend to just flour or grease the same bowl I mixed in to avoid more dishes. Cover and let sit for 45 minutes. 

Uncover and punch down. 

Knead well on a floured surface again. About 2 tablespoons is a good amount. 

At this point you can rip the dough in two for two crusts or see how much dough you would want to use depending on the thickness of the crust you prefer. 

Roll into a ball before using a rolling pin to roll out into a pizza shape. This is my least favorite part as I tend to not roll circles very well. 

I wanted thick crust (it was thicker than expected in the end!) so I rolled out wider than my pan (be sure to grease it first) then used my fingers to roll the dough back in slightly to make a mound. 

I mixed salt, garlic, parsley and oil together and brushed the crust before baking. 

Bake at 375 degrees F for about 10-15 minutes or until golden brown before adding your sauce toppings! 

Leave a Reply

