Nectarine Jam Recipe – No Pectin Needed

Jam making is one of my favorite things to do. If I am to be honest I don’t actually care much for fruit except mostly in smoothies it in infusing drinks. I am a savory flavor person and prefer vegetables. Though, fruits are my favorite to work with. The smells and textures in my hands are so invigorating, sensual and beautiful. The variety of color and the scents they release when worked with are intoxicating. Nectarines are known to represent romantic relationships (especially marriages), fertility, abundance, longevity, love, happiness, et cetera. 

My toddler goes through food phases. She seems to eat ANYTHING if we are out or at a friends house but at home she changes her mind on things she will consume. Recently, she went on a nectarine rampage and we bought piles of them. The last few days she seemed to be “over” them so they have sat ripening more and more. I decided instead of leaving them to make jam instead. I only had three left but you can easily double, triple, etc this recipe. 

You will need: 

*3 whole nectarines 

*1 1/2 cups of sugar

*2 teaspoons of lemon juice

*a dash of spice of choice (optional)

Nectarine skin has natural pectin so don’t peel it! If you prefer not to eat the skin then you will need to add pectin to this recipe. 

Wash and chop nectarines! Toss the pits or save them for other uses.

Place into pot and add lemon juice and sugar. You can add your spices now if you wish or during the last 5 minutes. Some prefer to add it later. I used a dash of cinnamon. 

Turn onto medium heat and stir. Cook for 30 minutes and stir every few minutes.

It should look something like this when close to done. 

You can mash it up with a potato masher if you prefer not to have such big chunks (or chop smaller to begin with). I mashed mine as I may use it for a cookie filling. 

If you’re going to can the jam you can proceed as you wish. I won’t be detailing instructions for that this time around. I decided since it is a small batch that I will be using this weekend that I would just let it cool slightly then add to a container.

Do not add steaming hot jam to a cool or room temperature jar! I let mine cool a little then poured. I added the lid immediately and the little bit of heat left sealed it slightly. I then let it cool more on the counter before refrigerating. Enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

