Eyebright Infused Oil – Magical and Mundane Herbalism

I finished this oil the other day. I didn’t originally intend for it to be a blog post seeing as its use for me personally is purely magical. Nothing to really do with heathenry or homesteading. Seeing as my blog is mostly recipes and how to’s however I changed my mind. When I can get back to learning more self sufficiency promoting skills I will blog about them! 

I have found that many Heathens I personally speak to and have friendships with have some sort of magical practice they either incorporate into their faith or keep to the side. Separate in most ways other than the type of magic you would find in ritual. I am the same as I have stated in older blogs. With this particular entry I will be going over Eyebright infused oil and some usages. Both magical and mundane.

Eyebright is used medicinally for…you guessed it! Eye health! Inflammation, disorders, styes, etc. The entire plant above the roots are used medicinally. It is full of antioxidants, violate oils, vitamins (such as B, C and E), tannins and more to aid in much more than just eye health! It’s popular use as a supplement made it both easy and difficult to find. Powder stuffed capsules are found in any health food store and often even at large grocery stores. They are even found online easily on sites such as Amazon, as an ingredient in pre-made concoctions, etc. Finding the powder (I would have preferred it not be powdered but I wanted anything at that point in my search) alone proved much more difficult. I found some on sites I wasn’t sure were legitimate and for oddly priced bags on Amazon. I almost gave up until I found it at our co-op in the herbs section. It was powdered as usual but I was happy to see it. My husband prepared a bagful for me and we went on our way. So even though I could find it pre-prepared the thought of wasting so much plastic and the gelatin capsules bothered me. Also, who has time to pop open those things individually? This parent does not! 

Some energetic/magical properties include: working air elementals and the element itself, clearing the mind, increasing mental and psychic powers, clairvoyance, seeing the truth, seeing things for what they really are, etc. I made it to potentially help me see through situations. To determine if emotions and such are clouding my perception. 

Sounds hoaky and woo woo to many but I’m okay with that. I am about to be 29 and I’ve been doing this actively and knowingly since I was 12 with family. I’m used to it. 

I don’t have pictures of the process of starting the oil but I have an older blog that goes over that. Essentially, I just put the powder in a jar and then completely covered it with my carrier oil of choice. Leaving only enough room at the top of the jar to shake it. Because it is a powder I mixed it to make sure the oil filled all of the available space before topping off. Then I let it brew. Shaking daily. I left it for a few months but two weeks minimum should do the trick. 

To strain I first used the finest strainer I had. The powder makes it difficult to strain but I did the best I could. There are probably tools out there for this but nothing more available in this kitchen. 



I put the most powder free amount of oil in an amber bottle with a dropper for dripping into concoctions, the powdery slush I left in the jar for rubbing on candles and the in between oil I put in a jar I could easily dip my fingers into for anointing. Powder will sink to the bottom if you want to pour the top off into other jars. Then I stored these all in our herbal cupboard out of the sunlight.

I hope some of you found this helpful if magical oil infusing interests you! You can do this for medicinal use as well to make topical massage oils. 

5 thoughts on “Eyebright Infused Oil – Magical and Mundane Herbalism

  1. “I have found that many Heathens I personally speak to and have friendships with have some sort of magical practice they either incorporate into their faith or keep to the side.” – I think it sort of comes with the territory! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

