Sun Brewed Coffee

The heat is slowly coming to the PNW! A few days ago I put out the kids pool and started some lemonade and cold brewed coffee and fridge green tea. Then in a post of a group I admin a question about sun tea was brought up. We love sun tea in this house! 

Check out my blog on sun tea: https://theheathenhomesteader.wordpress.com/2016/04/05/sun-tea-and-reusing-jars/

It got me wondering about about sun brewed coffee. I make a big batch of cold brewed coffee on my kitchen counter every few days. I also use a French press when it’s cool out to make hot coffee. Sun brewed was never something I considered until yesterday oddly enough. 

So I tried it. I used the ratios for my cold brewed coffee (link below) but set it in the sun for 2 hours. It’s not very hot here yet or I might have done an hour. I only made a two cup batch or else I would have left it longer as well. Further experimentation is in the works to see if longer brewing effects the flavor. 

https://theheathenhomesteader.wordpress.com/2016/03/01/cold-brewed-coffee-recipe/

I did everything the same as the link above except I had a smaller scale version of 2 cups water to 1/4 cup coffee. Then I shook it up and sat it in direct sunlight. I moved it once to keep in the light and away from neighbors pets. 

It worked! It tasted less bitter than both my coffee machine (when I used one) and French press produced. 

It wasn’t HOT however so I plopped in cold creamer and a few ice cubes for a nice drink. Quicker than cold brew and still tasty and smooth! 

I think one needs to take into account where they are (altitude), possibly humidity and definitely the temperature. I think 2 hours at least is a safe bet to brew but you may try shorter if it’s over 100 degrees or longer if it’s under 80. 

Enjoy! 

2 thoughts on “Sun Brewed Coffee

Leave a Reply

